Arboretum Committee

The purpose of the committee is to oversee and advance the establishment, development and utilization of approximately 24 acres of land traversed by various easements into a permanent public arboretum type park primarily accessed at the easterly edge of 18 Mile Road, bounded by Canal Road.


  • James Hungerford, Chair
  • Tom Layman, Vice Chair
  • Dan Lepo
  • Scott Chabot
  • James Cheney 
  • Loretta Macklem
  • Henry Sommerstorfer

Ex-Officio Members

  • Mary Bednar, Director, Public Services Department
  • Mary Hein, Director, Finance Department
  • Bruce Thompson, Director, Planning & Community Development

Member Emeritus

  • Raymond Glime